DCoop Sourcebook – Coalesse SW-1 Seating

I’ll tell, I think everyone must think I’m the weird one at tradeshows. 

I’m the one on the floor, on my back taking random pictures.

I’m the one feverishly typing on Twitter to get something out there before even the magazines do it.

I’m the one who did five tradeshows in two months and still managed to keep up a practice.

Yeah.  I’m apparently nuts.

And of course, some of you have managed to catch me in these various moments. There was a bathtub at a showroom in at KBIS.  Then there was me on the floor of the 18th floor of the Merchandise Mart.  And then there was me sitting on a toilet in the Kohler showroom.  And saddly, there IS photographic evidence of these moments.

ANYWAY.  Where was I going?  That’s right…. seating.

Let’s be honest, if there is one thing I like just as much as super-awesomesauce lighting, it’s amazeballs seating.  Neocon this year had absolutely no shortage of great lounge pieces.  The manufacturers are really stepping up their game and throwing us designers something we can really sink our teeth into.

Coalesse is one of those high-stepping vendors that managed to make one heck of an impression on me this year.  I was on the floor, under the tables, moving chairs so I could get a good photo.  And of course, trying not to drool on damn near everything in their showroom.  If you don’t know, Coalesse is a Steelcase company.   That’s right.  One of the Big Three has come up with something that doesn’t look like it came from the Big Three.  Actually they came up with a number of items but for the sake of this post, I’m going to go gaga over the SW-1 Seating line.

Designed by Scott Wilson and the industrial design firm, MINIMAL, the Metro line was meant to scare the shit out of conventional conference seating.  It’s a throwback to 1974 but without the bellbottoms and acid.  It makes task chairs piddle on the floor. Or bow in silence.

Told ya I was going to go gaga.  My favorite part?  It isn’t just for the conference room.  They’ve got a high back version for executive purposes (think Eames Executive Lounge), a lounge version with no castors, and even one with a tablet arm.

I know.

Pinch me.

I must be dreaming.

Designer Tip: Think commercial (ie: office) furnishings are meant to stay in the office?  Think again.  Current trends are bringing the home to the office.  Furniture design is keeping pace with the trends and let’s just say, the office of yore is not the office of now.  Even better?  Because commercial pieces are made to withstand the harsh commercial environment you can rest assured that it will withstand the demands of the working household. 

Coalesse | Available to the Trade | www.coalesse.com

If you’re interested in purchasing any of the items featured on the DCoop Sourcebook, shoot us an email.

DCoopMedia was not compensated for this post. But I want like five of them.

All images copyright DCoopMedia and may not be used without prior approval.

Tagged , , , , ,
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,886 other followers

