DCoop Sourcebook – Capital Cooking Culinarian Series

A sidenote.  Of recent I’ve been dreaming of new appliances.

My kitchen is a relic from 1992 and at this particular moment I feel like Agent Smart making his way through the Cavern of Doors every time I want to do something as simple as boil water (which I do quite well actually….. you should see the way the bubbles form!).

To light my cooktop I actually have to use a match.  Not a real match but one of those BIC long stemmed lighters – same concept.  I’m like Shelly Long in The Money Pit hoping it won’t blow my turkey out the oven and into the 2nd floor master bathroom. My oven?  It lights when it wants to.

And that isn’t too often.

Not to mention, the sight of not-so-pretty appliances means that I’m not showing you photos of my kitchen anytime soon.  In fact, when people come over, the super awesome dual swing door is shut in a semi open position (because it needs new hardware).

Anyway, you can only imagine that when Capital Cooking invited me to actually use their Culinarian 36″ range during a cook off for this year’s Dwell on Design, I was like a kid on crack, trying really hard to contain my excitement but failing miserably.

I think there might have been a little piddle involved.

I’ll just get right to the good stuff.  The Culinarian Series is not just for the true chef but is also for the Top Chef Wannabe and the Macaroni-&-Cheese-From-A-Box Enthusiast.  I’m somewhere in the middle (who hasn’t had a hankering for Kraft Mac n’ Cheese at midnight?) and attempt everything from my own interpretation of Coq au Vin to a horribly simple batch of hard boiled eggs.  A great burner output (23,000 BTUs per hour… don’t ask, I don’t know either) but the ability to simmer at 145 degrees F make for ease of use on the cooktop while its 4.6 cubic foot convection oven (with built in Rotisserie functions) means you’re putting out Thanksgiving dinner for the whole crazy family.  Three available top options mean you could be having a BBQ indoors or going all Line Chef on those pancakes with a griddle. Did I mention it’s self cleaning?  Yeah…. Because Rosie quit and I hate cleaning the oven.

But I know.  I’m a designer.  Which means I’m not just thinking about function. I’m all about aesthetics.  I mean big time.  Ten standard color options including wine red, cobalt blue, and signal yellow.  Yes kiddies, this is that injection of color I mentioned in last week’s post on Chromophobia. And I’m sure if they ask nicely you can have their ranges in damned near any color you can imagine.

Just in case…. remember that Coq Au Vin I mentioned?  It received high praises from Surjit Kalsi, the brains behind Capital Cooking.  Not to mention evoked thoughts of Provencal France from half of the convention center. Since I’m so nice, I’m going to give you the recipe…. —> Here.

Now don’t tell me I didn’t give you anything.

Designer Tip: If you have the opportunity, test drive appliances before you buy.  Get a feel for the burners, quality of flames and heat output.  Knock around the handles, knobs, buttons.  A range should be no different than buying a car (though less expensive) and you shouldn’t have to settle for the unknown.  A number of dealer/showrooms are working spaces and would love to have you cook lunch for them.

Capital Cooking | Available at Select Retailers | www.capital-cooking.com

If you’re interested in purchasing any of the items featured on the DCoop Sourcebook, shoot us an email.

DCoopMedia was not compensated for this post. Except for one great comment from the CEO Surjit Kalsi. 

All images courtesy Capital Cooking.

Tagged , , ,

3 thoughts on “DCoop Sourcebook – Capital Cooking Culinarian Series

  1. These look yummy! I so wish I could see those other colors they come in. I don’t really cook anymore but I need to get back to it & try that dish! It looks awesome sauce.

  2. Please put up a picture of the red and blue. I might have to hurt someone if they stand in my way for the red one.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,887 other followers

