Nostalgia & “When your childhood shows up in antique stores”

So it’s the weekend and instead of boring you with education I’m going to tell a story.

Every few months, Steve and I pile ourselves, two bags, better pillows and our dog into The Beast (just in case you don’t know, the Beast is our big SUV…. sorry greenies) and make the 5 hour drive to his parents’ house in Central California.  To those of you not versed in California weather, the summers in the Central Valley are crazy hot and the winters are, well, the opposite. I love my in-laws, don’t get me wrong, but Tulare in the summer is not exactly a desired destination.  This is probably why during the Summer they plead to come to our house in San Diego.

Now, anyone who is from, has been, or has sped through this part of California knows that Tulare County isn’t exactly a place to “do things”. In fact, here, a big day is the Super Target and then off to the largest Costco in the Continental United States. Steve tells me that the teen pregnancy rate in TCo is one of the largest in the nation. Being here for two days makes me think he’s not kidding.  Needless to say I get a little stir crazy and find myself (and Steve) making the rounds through town checking out what little any of these townships have to offer. (One redemption: Superior Dairy in Hanford.  BEST. ICE. CREAM. EVER)

This is a real Tonka Truck. It is metal. They left marks when you fell on them.

On this particular heated Saturday we found ourselves in Visalia on Main Street checking out the antique offerings.  Let’s back up for a moment and remember that I am celebrating a milestone birthday in just a few short weeks and am not exactly thrilled.  Reminders of my upcoming age are not welcome; Steve has just a few bruises to attest. HAHA!  Back to the story of the day….

So is it me or … does it bother anyone else to walk into an antique store and see relics of their childhood marked up to astronomical prices and touted as either “Collectable”, “Vintage”, “Retro”, or “Antique”? HAHAHA!

Typical 70's casserole dish. My mother still has hers.

So here’s to those of us who’ve found ourselves in an antique store, staring at a casserole dish like the one in which your mother served tuna casserole and probably bought with those store coupons (you know the ones where you spent so much per trip and got a coupon and once you got a big number of coupons you could trade them in for stuff…. ) and now marked up to $32.50 and tagged “Vintage”.

Salut!

