The Intrique of The Corners

Get Lost! So rude I know.  But you should know me be now.  Being polite never was my strongest trait. Oh well.

Anyway, I’ve found that I tend to get a little lazy on Wednesdays around these parts.  Maybe the midweek blues. Maybe I’m running low on my favorite Bourdeaux. Today, however, it is simply because I’ve been daydreaming.  I’m more or less staring the paint off of the wall behind my desk.  Earlier this week, talk amongst Twitter friends (or Tweeps as they’re so affectionately called) turned to Paris.  I’ve been a number of times but unlike many American tourists, I have my own way of experiencing the City of Lights.

For me, Paris has never been defined by the Eiffel Tower or the Louvre or Versailles or any of the well regarded, picture postcard locales so loved by many a visitor.  For me, the lure of Paris has always been in the corners. Sounds like a creepy science fiction movie but you’ll just have to skip over to Cassie’s blog CobbleStay if you want to see what I really mean.

Check out CobbleStay’s Parisian rental properties as well.  I promise you’ll spend your afternoon daydreaming as well.

Images copyright D.Coop and may not be used without permission.

Tagged , , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “The Intrique of The Corners

  1. SmartyCassie says:

    Thank you for sharing! BTW, love your sense of humor.

  2. I am for sure putting Paris on my bucket list…I may even decide to explore the corners…

    • dcoopsd says:

      You must! Paris is best explored with no intentions. No definitions. No maps. You’ll really get to know the city best in that manner!

      • I know I want to see all the typical hot spots when I finally go…the art & architecture but I love to explore things as you have just described above. I often feel like a free spirit who is locked up by to many circumstances beyond my control to totally feel free….so I am always working between the extremes of adventuring into the unknown & walking the path where it is safely defined.

      • dcoopsd says:

        Letting go is definitely the hardest part. Though I think that rings true in so many facets of our lives that taking the opportunity to do it somewhere where making that extreme guarantees beautiful results is the best way to do it. Do it… I promise you won’t be disappointed!

  3. Isn’t that the best way to explore any city? New York – it’s not just Rock Center and Central Park. It’s lox at Russ and Daughters on Houston St. (HOW-ston, not HUE-ston), Gramercy Park, the Cloisters in the Bronx, the UWS (Upper West Side). I could go on. Love your redesign, Mr. B. See you on Twitter!

    • dcoopsd says:

      Very very true! Even Steve’s hometown which is nestled in the hills of Central California. Lately I’ve loved getting in the car and just wandering. Thank goodness for GPS!

  4. oooh, that looks like Pere Lachaise (?) Isn’t that an incredible cemetery ? Who knew that you can get lost in a cemetery, and still LOVE IT ?!! It is so dreamy. I have been lost in there a few times ( without a map ) and it didn’t even scare the wits outta me.

    So happy you wrote about Paris. Best evvvha.

    Lynne xx

    • dcoopsd says:

      You are correct! Our last full day in Paris in 2009 we spent exploring the venerable cemetery outside of the city. Amazing. I loved the emphasis put on the architecture of each individual mausoleum. Every one of them told a story.

      Looking forward to your Paris stories!!

      • So cool that you loved it too! I took pictures of almost every mausoleum door – they were so gorgeous, non? I was thinking about doing a blog post just on those doors alone! So many ideas, not enough days in the week…I could blog non stop about Paris..it is just such incredible eye candy.Next time you go, there is a a wee small restaurant to the right of the main entrance. Of the beaten path…Best Boeuf Bourginion IN-THE-WORLD. YUM!!

Comments are closed.

