Show me the Carfax! The 1956 Maserati 2000 Gran Turismo Allemano Coupe

Living in California I’ve come to expect the un-expected. 

Seriously.  Things that happen here just don’t happen in other places.  Things like spotting Octomom Angelina Jolie shopping at a Ralphs with her baseball team in tow.  Like being able to surf and ski the same day (and not on the same body of water). Like pulling up to an intersection and seeing three Bentleys, two Ferraris, and a dealership’s worth of BMWs, Mercedes and Porsche At. The. Same. Time.  It happens and interestingly enough, it doesn’t phase me anymore. I’ve relatives in Iowa and Nebraska that come here, point these things out, and my response is a bland “Oh, I hadn’t noticed”.

Anyway, one of those random little moments happened on Saturday.  Steve and I are casually grazing over vehicles in search of the Beast’s replacement.  As much as I love that big black ball of steel, I wouldn’t mind a smaller car payment and something a little nicer on gas (comes back to that Walking the Walk I talked about last week). The result is that we’re finding ourselves in some random places looking at just as random vehicles.

So we thought we’d stop in to our local CarMax.  You know, the Wal-Mart of vehicle shopping.  Lots of cars but also, lots of blue polyester.  Similarity?  Hmmmm…. I’ll let you draw the conclusion. Let’s just say it’s not a place that is normally going to get my motor racing.

Until Friday.  When I spotted this little number just outside the front door. Parked by itself. Alone. Poor thing.  I snapped a photo and went on my merry way not knowing that I’d seen something VERY special.  Like one in sixty special.  Like hand built, no two alike special.

So special that it was a rather rare 1956 Maserati 2000 GT Allemano Coupe. 

Let me put it this way.  You DON’T see this car outside of the Cours d’Elegance. Certainly I talk about great vehicles here on the D.Coop Bloggie.  I’m sure you’ve all see my post about the Audi R8 Spyder. I mean, I talk about it ad naseum so you should have seen it.  Seriously.  What are you waiting for.  I’ll wait.  But this little beast, this is in a completely different territory.

Built between 1955 and 1957, the Allemano Coupe was considered the last of Maserati’s coach built vehicles.  Maserati had initially turned to builder of choice, Pinin Farina, to clothe the last of their hand built machines.  But alas, Farina had already committed to Ferrari (bastard). The result, a trifecta of boutique Italian coach builders were selected as the principal des vestements.  Ultimately this little twist of affairs made the coupe that much more rare.  Allemano produced only 2+2 bodies, better known as the coupe. Frua, whose influence can still be seen in today’s BMWs, produced Spyder bodies.  Zagato (Aston Martin Vanquish Roadster anyone?) turned out spectacular competition race bodies.  What this meant was that because only 60 Maserati 2000 GTs were ever produced, the Allemano Coupe is only one of 21.  Total.

There are more people that win the lottery each day then there are Allemano Coupes.  And of course, you’d probably need to win the lottery to afford one. A “fixer-upper” went to auction in 2006 and sold in the $180,000 USD range making clean, perfect, d’Elegance examples fetch numbers that would make four years at Harvard seem affordable.

But alas.  Just as any other dream, this one was short lived. After a short tour around the Wal-Max (or Car-mart) parking lot, the GT had vanished leaving me wondering “Just what WAS it doing here?”.

Will I see it again?  Probably not.  But it’s sighting I can chalk up to my Big Foot Bucket List.

Minus the footprints.  And the hair.

Images via: D.Coop, Maserati-Alfieri

Tagged , , , ,

13 thoughts on “Show me the Carfax! The 1956 Maserati 2000 Gran Turismo Allemano Coupe

  1. […] more: Show me the Carfax! The 1956 Maserati 2000 Gran Turismo … Posted in Maserati, News Tags: california, coupe-living, like-spotting, maserati, octomom, […]

  2. I am not really a car person…well not like I could be. My first car was a Nissan sports model NX 2000 a long time ago…I sold it though because you can’t put a baby in the front seat.

    This makes this a 14 years long ago story & I still miss that car with its T-tops & my messy tangled hair from driving it on the highway…. I learned very quickly when I purchased that car that I love speed. In an arrow dynamic car that is. Driving to Vegas in my boyfriends truck a few years back does not count…..

    I have to admit that when you write about cars my heart starts pounding & I feel a slight Adrenalin rush. I think I am a shut in the closet, speed junky in denial right now.

    hmmm…maybe instead of getting a small SUV next…no. Never mind. Scratch that. I must get children out of the house first. Plus where will I put my collection of tiles, carpets & other such collections that I can never seem to stop transporting via car…??? I can dream I suppose.

    • dcoopsd says:

      Though I’m not a total car junkie, I do always look for that little spark in a vehicle. It makes me sad that there are so many cars on the road that are completely designed for a budget and lack in any sort of spark whatsoever. I don’t care if it is a Nissan Sentra or a Rolls Phantom… a vehicle should ultimately designed so that the driver has a connection with the road (and I don’t mean the spots where the four wheels touch the ground).

      As for that small SUV…. there are some great ones on the market these days depending on your budget. And even with those kids…..

      • I mainly want the small SUV for my design business, not so much for the kids. I only have two kiddies to worry about. Right now I have a four door, 6 cylinder Nissan Maxima. You would die if you knew how many miles are on it. On a slow week I put an average of 440 miles on it so they are getting up there fast. It is paid off though…

        I want to put something on my vision board. Something to work towards, but I have no idea where to start. I want something roomy enough in-case my boyfriend ever pops the question & I need to drive his kids around (he has two also) but good on gas mileage & the environment. It may take me a while to get there but I like to have a plan. Must have a plan!

        Right now I just feel confusion when I start looking. Most folks care more about brand names…I want to know what it will do other that keeping me up with the Jones-es on appearances.

        You probably are a wealth of knowledge here.

      • dcoopsd says:

        I can understand that one. Though I’ll counter your 440 miles a week – when I bought my first BMW I put 155,000 miles on it in 5 years because of all my driving. Car still drove like a dream though.

        I’ll have to put together a little list for you. Though you might have to wait as it could become a blog post (I’m trying to do one auto related post a week)….

      • 155,000 is a lot of miles. My fear is that I am running mine into the ground. It is over ten years old with way more miles on it (just not in a years time). I am afraid to admit I have been fixing it a lot lately…new starter, thermostat, radiator & the vents aren’t working now…& that is just this past month repairs. I am afraid I am running out of time.

        Hey, if you want to put together a list that could even help me & use it for a post by all means be my guest. I can be patient too. This isn’t a decision I have to rush into anytime soon because I need a little more cash flow first. I would truly love your expertise if you are happy to give it.

        Who knows. Maybe picking a selection of cars based on your friends needs could be a great way to get in your auto posts. Of course you need to cover the colors they are available in & what looks like your friends would drive. I wont be seen in just any color. 😉

  3. Carrie says:

    I think if I would have been there with you, you would have heard yourself saying, “CARRIE!! You can not just delicately lean over the hood of a car you don’t own and kiss it like that!”

    Yes. Those words would have quite possibly left your mouth.

  4. IAMTHELAB says:

    I will be taking that car for a spin from now on. Hands off!

  5. Johanna says:

    Hey, this is a good site. Great stuff. I like it! Thanks

  6. Chris Keller says:

    Right next to my inner nerd there lies a closeted (due to finances) car addict. I couldn’t agree with you more on the mass produced the K-car/new gen Ford Tarsus mass produced snooze-fest you see today. Gone are the days of well thought out design, now its all about how to house five kids with easy to wipe milk shakes off plastic interior.
    I have lusted after buying my own part of history since I was 4 riding in my aunt’s neighbor’s Model-T. And the sheer awe I had when Mr. Harrison drove around the corner and unveiled his latest restored treasure. I have contemplated and saved to see what part of history I could own, but have never pulled the trigger. This article makes me want to start scouring Edmunds and just start looking again.

    While I may never own something as grand as that old Maserati, or have 16 vintage’s housed in my carriage house. But, maybe, just maybe I could find something that can make my heart and eyes smile when I got behind the wheel?

    • dcoopsd says:

      I think because I grew up around muscle cars and the classics, I’ve always had this deep love of vehicles. Growing up my dad bought a 1969 RS Camaro and over 20 years, turned it into a hot rod. I had my share of time behind the wheel (though I’ve never actually driven it) helping my dad pump brakes when he changed out the drum for disk. And though they’re selling it to make way for retirement, I still have my memories.

      I think in the end, it has helped me to appreciate all facets of design – vintage cars being no different.

      It is sad though, how economics has played such a major part in current car design. Gone are the awesome concepts of the 50’s, the Art deco stunners of the 30’s. And most of it comes down to selling as many as possible.

      Which really is why this Maserati is such a rare treat.

Comments are closed.

