Smoke and Mirrors – Making a Dream a Reality

Before reading this I think you should sit down. 

There.  Take a seat.  Grab your coffee (Need a little Baileys?  Need a little more Baileys?).

Ok.  So let me let you in on a little secret.  You know how Architectural Digest publishes that yearly “Designer’s Homes” issue?  And how all the blogs and rags and mags feature homes that we interior designers claim to live in?  They’re all gorgeous and beautifully styled and spotless and freaking amazing.  Hell, I’m even a little jealous.

Well anyway, it’s a myth.  A sham.  A game of smoke and mirrorsLet’s just say we’re pulling the wool over your eyes better than Copperfield at an Amtrak station.  It’s true.

We don’t all live that way.  I think Meredith Heron started blowing the lid off that secret a few weeks back by showing you photos of her now very famous living room strewn with toys (I love that Luke!) and clothes and what have you.

I always joke that it’s a case of the Cobbler’s Kids.  I wear shoes but I’m still using patio furniture in my living room that came with us when Steve and I took the gamble and signed a lease together some five and a half years ago.

Can you believe five years have passed since we took the keys?  Hey!  That’s longer than the marriages of all the Kardashian sisters combined. I think we have a record.

So anyway, aside from giving you a sneak peek into my humble abode, I am introducing a new little series on the Bloggie.  See, I WANT that designer house look without a) ripping down walls in what is really my long-term rental, and b) without paying $6,000 for a chair.  I’m sure that there are quite a many of you that are in the same position.  Starting next week and continuing every Monday for the next decade I at the Bloggie will take you through my home’s rebranding of sorts.  There will probably be a little DIY, more drama than you wanted to see, a lot of shopping, with a dash of the sordid tales of the Smith-Stephens household.

Stay tuned…. because we’re going in deep.

Tagged , ,

11 thoughts on “Smoke and Mirrors – Making a Dream a Reality

  1. Marilyn G Russell, ASID, NEWH, IIDA says:

    I’m looking forward to your Monday series….the transformation of your humble abode.

  2. I love this idea! The Bloggie & Meredith Heron’s Sashay are my two favorite blogs based on their doses of REAL along with the super creative designers writing them!

    Real, people will real opinions & real lives…I like being real myself personally, but I live in Utah where real is not as respected as it should be & I am supposed to be a lady who never says anything liberal or disagrees with any male or older than me female, or tells it how it truly is because someone will always decide to be offended…probably because they don’t like the way I look…but anyway…that is why I save it all up for my few closest friends & edit,edit, edit when it comes to anything written online that can be used against me.

    As much as we want others to believe we live in a Butterscotch Castle…I listened to Captain & Tennile last week with my nieces…well wee don’t. Our circumstances are so varied & we even have limitations so I think it is refreshing to see that we are real & human & all are searching for bliss in our domestic environments. Even more exciting is that such bliss is as individual as we are. It shouldn’t be cookie cutter bliss.

    I won’t give you too much real about the way I live but I will say that I totally relate to the creative playful messiness that is a result of Meredith having the most adorable son. I don’t think have seen a child next to my own who I adore so much. She is raising him right too & not stifling what makes him amazing.

    My children are older now so toys have been replaced by clothes….well except for my 11 year old who has a thing for dolls all of the sudden. I think a fear of growing up is involved here. Then there is moi, who always has a corner of the kitchen table being used for her laptop or her paintings…I rarely get the big easel out anymore since it is always being moved out of the way by someone else & get tired of moving it back…So much goes into having a well design home but the smoke & mirrors doesn’t tell the real story of the love & the journey it often takes to get there.

    I love your home Brandon. Fabulous. I cannot wait to see what you do with it.

    • dcoopsd says:

      I think the impetus for me has always been that over the years I’ve put a great deal of time into other people’s spaces. I live and breathe design for the most part and as a result, when I come home the last thing I want to think about is picking fabric for my dining room chairs. It’s always the calm after the storm as far as I’m concerned.

      But of late, and this may be the result of my aging and seeing my business take me down a multitude of different avenues, some of which aren’t even parallel to my own day job, I want my own home to reflect what I’m putting out there. To be the calm during the storm as well so to speak.

      After five years in the same house, it’s time. It really is time to start making my home the reflection of me instead of the reflection of my general laziness and unwillingness to do it when I get home (though getting home really just means walking from the back to the front of the house).

      It’s my environment and why shouldn’t it be better?

      The result was that I decided to give myself a secondary impetus, another reason if you will, to really do it up. Not to mention maybe I can get a few of those manufacturers that read me to sponsor a part of the house. Hello Miele? I really need a new cooktop and oven…..

      • Amen to all that! I think it is important our spaces reflect us…I realize that us as designers are very multidimensional & become more so as we design for others which is why when people ask me what my style is I have a hard time pinpointing it exactly. The truth is that all of that is what makes our spaces so interesting. I can think of a more interesting space than one that reflect a talented designer.

  3. Kelly M says:

    I love your not-so-humble abode! I’m drooling over the molding details and looking forward to your finds! Have fun!

  4. Susie (@Remodel_w_Feia) says:

    Ha – we must be kindred spirits! I use that “cobbler” story all the time. And patio furniture in the house – is there something wrong with that? 🙂 My wicker loveseat in my great room is the cat’s favorite place to nap.

    Wonderful house Brandon! Thinking you can be a bit of inspiration as I contemplate my own long list of (never-ending) projects. Looking forward to following your abode’s transformation!

    • dcoopsd says:

      I’m just trying to break the stigma one myth at a time 😀 HA! I figure in some round about kinda way writing about the projects holds me a little accountable right?

      And glad to know I’m not the only one with patio furniture still in the house….

  5. akiasi says:

    You make me laugh. I love when your posts show up my e-mail inbox. I’m looking forward to this series. I like the way you keep it real!

  6. akiasi says:

    You make me laugh. I love it when your posts show up in my mailbox. Keep on keeping it real!

Comments are closed.

