Living in a Nutshell – Could you do it?

Living here in Southern California we have no shortage of gargantuan living spaces.  Big apartments, bigger condos and really big houses.

Granted I don’t live in one of those self-proclaimed McMansions (my little bungalow is a measly 1,010 square feet) I do take great pride in knowing that I have multiple rooms in which I can spend my waking hours.  Watch tv in the living room.  Eat in a real dining room (when we do actually eat there), and work in a walled off office with a gen-U-ine door.  Yes kiddies, I said a door.

We’ve talked about downsizing, taking up residence in a smaller space downtown.  Maybe a loft. One big room with a separate bathroom and kitchen that I can go a little nuts with and carve out new spaces weekly (Steve still cringes at that idea).  But in the end, every time we look we tend to cringe a little when we hear square footages.  600 square feet.  725 square feet. 800 square feet. They seem so small when the thought of just how much we’ve accumulated over the years comes to mind.

Where would I store my six different sets of china?  What would happen to the 7′-0″ artificial Christmas tree we have in the garage (sidenote: I actually can’t sleep in an enclosed space with a real pine tree; kicks my allergies into high gear and I’m all bah humbug).  How about 10 years of Interior Design magazine?  Am I that attached to my stuff? Yes dammit!

Anyway, amidst all this introspection it beguiles me to think of living in anything smaller than the little bungalow in which we already reside.

But then….. I manage to run across something that bewilders me.  Confuses me.  Puts me in awe of another individual.

Like this New Yorker…. who lives in 78 square feet.  No kiddies, I didn’t go all typo on you and forget the zero.  That’s a seven and an eight.  And that’s it.  And although his plan of attack and sense of organization are genius, I can’t help but think that maybe he should be padding the walls because an entire apartment that size (and I don’t mean just his bedroom) would drive me a little batty.  A little nuts.  They’d be carting me off in a straight jacket and the Ghostbuster’s ambulance.

Take a peek a the video via Grist and tell me…. could you live in 78 square feet?

Tagged , ,

7 thoughts on “Living in a Nutshell – Could you do it?

  1. Emily says:

    My first New York apartment was a whopping 360 square feet with a sleep in kitchen: The only door in the whole place was for the bathroom. When I upgraded to to an 800-square-foot place last fall, it was almost overwhelmingly big, even with the 6’2″ live-in boyfriend. Thanks to my apartments in New York and Japan, I think the places I’ve lived have made me a compulsive chucker of things; receipts, boxes, bags, buttons, clothes I haven’t worn in over one year, kitchen gadgets that I no longer use—and I never miss it! Small living is great. It just takes some getting used to.

    • dcoopsd says:

      A great friend lives on the Upper East and I hear that quite often. Sometimes I forget the whole relativity of size issue, especially when commenting to one of my clients that I could fit my entire bungalow in her living room. But alas…. I will say though, that I’ve become more of a get rid of person the older I get. Which is never a bad thing.

  2. I have lived in some small spaces but that would make me insane. I almost went insane watching it although…you never know the conditions in which you can live until you are put in a position too live there. We are fairly adaptable…but more likely with a positive outlook.

    • dcoopsd says:

      I just keep thinking of a quote… something about the goose and the gander or… I don’t know 😀 But yeah…. being that close to my walls would probably drive me nuts as well.

  3. Terri Davis says:

    I just down scaled to 1400sf and thought that was a major accomplishment. My hats off to the creative ones who can live outside the box. It would drive me craaazzzzy…especially as a work space! But I do agree, we can all adapt to what is required. I must say tho’ I am lately intrigued with small space living and the creative solutions that are born!

  4. dcoopsd says:

    Out of the whole Small Space living Apartment Therapy was born. Which is never a bad thing. But holy bejebus…. 78 square feet? I’d hate to see what happens when he gains a significant other.

  5. […] that video I posted a few weeks back?  New York’s tiniest real estate?  My closet is the size of his […]

Comments are closed.

